Monday, May 10, 2010

Ga Ga Stories

 Latest Book Releases
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Stieg Larsson

  The third book in Stieg Larsson's "Millennium" trilogy.Lisbeth Salander is recovering in a hospital and awaiting trial for three murders when she is released. Mikael Blomkvist must prove her innocence. Meanwhile, Lisbeth is plotting her own revenge against the people who put her in this situation. This is the final installment in Larsson's Millennium trilogy.This kicks off from where his previous book ended.That book was
The Girl who Played with Fire Salander taking some well-deserved R&R in the Caribbean. It seems too good to be true, and sure enough she soon finds herself aware of a domestic abuse situation in which she feels compelled to intervene – in a typically direct fashion! Back home in Stockholm, she moves into her lovely new city apartment, acquired with the proceeds from events readers of the first book will be familiar with. But the forces she has tried to avenge the previous year – like her warden Nils Bjurmann, have no intention of disappearing from her life: not surprising, since Bjurmann’s navel is tattooed ‘I am a sadistic pig – a pervert and a rapist’!

Shadow of your Smile

                      MARY HIGGINS CLARKE

At age eighty-two and in failing health, Olivia Morrow knows she has little time left. The last of her line, she faces a momentous choice: expose a long-held family secret, or take it with her to her grave.

Olivia has in her possession letters from her deceased cousin Catherine, a nun, now being considered for beatification by the Catholic Church--the final step before sainthood. In her lifetime, Sister Catherine had founded seven hospitals for disabled children. Now the cure of a four-year-old boy dying of brain cancer is being attributed to her. After his case was pronounced medically hopeless, the boy's desperate mother had organized a prayer crusade to Sister Catherine, leading to his miraculous recovery.

The letters Olivia holds are the evidence that Catherine gave birth at age seventeen to a child, a son, and gave him up for adoption. Olivia knows the identity of the young man who fathered Catherine's child: Alex Gannon, who went on to become a world-famous doctor, scientist, and inventor holding medical patents.

Now, two generations later, thirty-one-year-old pediatrician Dr. Monica Farrell, Catherine's granddaughter, stands as the rightful heir to what remains of the family fortune. But in telling Monica who she really is, Olivia would have to betray Catherine's wishes and reveal the story behind Monica's ancestry.

The Gannon fortune is being squandered by Alex's nephews Greg and Peter Gannon, and other board members of the Gannon Foundation, who camouflage their profligate lifestyles with philanthropy.

Now their carefully constructed image is cracking. Greg, a prominent financier, is under criminal investigation, and Peter, a Broadway producer, is a

suspect in the murder of a young woman who has been extorting money from him.

The only people aware of Olivia's impending choice are those exploiting the Gannon inheritance. To silence Olivia and prevent Monica from learning the secret, some of them will stop at nothing--even murder.

Clark's riveting new novel explores the juxtaposition of medical science and religious faith, and the search for identity by the daughter of a man adopted at birth.


 Quidditch Through The Ages
Did you know that: there are 700 ways of committing a foul in Quidditch? The game first began to evolve on Queerditch Marsh? What Bumphing is? That Puddlemere United is oldest team in the Britain and Ireland league? (Founded 1163.) All this information and much more could be yours once you have read this book: this is all you could ever need to know about the history, the rules – and the breaking of the rules – of the noble wizarding sport of Quidditch.

No comments:

Post a Comment